McCoy Earns Northwoods League MVP in Postseason Awards Announcement

McCoy, Others Honored in Postseason All-Star List


La Crosse, Wisc. – The Northwoods League announced the 2015 Postseason Awards and All-Star Team. Mason McCoy (Iowa) took home the most prestigious award, the Most Valuable Player Award. John Pappadopolous, the “Voice of the Loggers,” was named Co-Play-by-Play Announcer of the Year with Max Baker of St. Cloud and Shawn Murnin of Mankato.

McCoy and three other Loggers were also named to the Postseason All-Star Team. Unlike the midseason teams, the postseason team is not separated by divisions, but is the All-Star team of the whole league. McCoy earned the nomination at shortstop, Brock Lundquist (Long Beach State) at first base, Jordan Zimmerman (Michigan State) at second base, and Ty Provencher (Long Beach State) at pitcher. The Loggers were tied with Madison for the most selections.

Mason McCoy has had an unforgettable season this summer, one that will flood the Loggers and League record books for years to come. He lead the league in batting average (.366), at-bats (301), games played (70), runs (79), hits (111), total bases (166), and extra base hits (33). Proving to be MVP-quality, McCoy broke three Northwoods League Records for at-bats, hits, and runs, along with nine individual team records for at-bats, extra base hits, hits, multi-hit games, runs, singles, total bases, doubles, and games played. McCoy also tied two Loggers single game records for at-bats and runs.

La Crosse’s season is not quite done yet; they host the regular season finale tonight against the Madison Mallards before playing in the inaugural Wild Card Round of the 2015 Northwoods League Postseason. Game time tonight is 5:05.

La Crosse -