Latest News

Published On: November 29th, 2016

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League released its complete schedule today for the 2017 season. With the new additions of the Bismarck Larks and the Fond du Lac Dock Spiders the schedule features 20 teams, each playing 72 regular season games, along with a continuation of scheduled doubleheaders.


The Northwoods League, the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, will begin its 24th season on Tuesday, May 30, when all teams take the field for summer collegiate baseball’s most extensive schedule.


The League, which plays two halves to determine playoff participants, will end the first half of play on July 4 with the second half beginning the following day. The new playoff format will continue in 2017. Beginning on August 14 the first and second half divisional champions will have home field advantage on the first day of the one-game elimination divisional playoffs. Their opponents will be determined by the two divisional teams remaining with the best overall records. The winners of those games will play against each other the following day in another one-game elimination division championship. With no off-day in between, the North and South Division Champions will then meet in a best-of-three series for the Summer Collegiate World Series from August 16-18.


The 2017 Northwoods League All-Star Game presented by Ascension will be held on Tuesday, July 18 in Wausau, WI. In addition to the All-Star Game itself, the two-day event will also include a banquet, Home Run Derby and Fan Fest.


The Loggers will be celebrating their 15-year anniversary season in 2017 and will do so in style when they open with a 6-game homestand to christen their new $900,000 building enhancements to Copeland Park beginning on Tuesday, May 30 as they play host to the Duluth Huskies in the season opener.


A downloadable 2017 Loggers schedule can be found HERE.


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The 23-year-old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 160 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including two-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champion Ben Zobrist (CHC) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET), Curtis Granderson (NYM) and Lucas Duda (NYM).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Bullfrogs as your favorite team.