Loggers Cruise Past Huskies, 6-0

The La Crosse Loggers secured a victory last night against their divisional rival the Duluth Huskies.  

Garrett Rennie (San Diego) made his 2nd start of the summer for the Lumberman and earned the win. He turned in a solid outing, tossing 5.0 innings of shutout ball on 1 hit and 7 strikeouts. Eldridge Armstrong (San Diego State) closed it out, earning his 3rd save after throwing 3.0 scoreless innings.  

The Huskies conjured up just 3 hits, coming from Kristian Campbell (Georgia Tech) and Jarred Mettam (St. Mary’s College).  

Their starter, Jake Comb (Southern Illinois), made his NWL debut and did not have his best stuff. He was tagged for 5 runs through 4.0 frames and was handed the loss. Pat Miner (Arkansas Tech) pitched 4.0 innings in relief, allowing just a run, but was not provided any run support.  

Offensively for La Crosse, Aidan Sweatt (North Florida), Blaise Priester (Meridian CC), and Jake Haley (Cal State Fullerton) each collected 2 hits. Carson Hornung (South Carolina) also chipped in with a double, extending his hitting streak to a league-leading 21 games. 

The Loggers will take on the Huskies once more tonight at Wade Stadium in Duluth. The first pitch is slated for 3:05pm CT at Wade Stadium. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 295 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.

La Crosse -