Loggers Steam Roll Past Express; 14-5.

The La Crosse Loggers garnered a victory last night against the Eau Claire Express, splitting the two-game series.  

Chase Chatman (St. Thomas), a recent NWL All-Star, made his 10th start for the Loggers and pitched brilliantly. The southpaw tallied a season-high 7.0 innings while surrendering a run on 5 hits and 9 strikeouts. His command was excellent, only walking one batter throughout. 

The Express offense was stagnant until the late innings, in which they posted two runs in the 8th and 9th innings on a flurry of walks. Reed Latimer (Montevallo) was the only tough out, going 3-for-4 with a couple RBIs and a solo homer; his third of the summer.  

Several Loggers’ hitters had standout performances, resulting in 14 runs including an 8-run 6th frame. Ronald Sweeny III (Minnesota) got things started early, hitting a 2-run blast in the 1st inning. In the 6th, five Lumberman drove in runs, counting Aidan Sweatt (North Florida) who went 3-for-6 and Blaise Priester (Meridian CC) who collected multiple hits on the evening.  

Tomorrow, the Loggers will begin a two-game home series against the Minnesota Mud Puppies. The first pitch is set for 6:35pm CT at Copeland Park. Fans can watch live on ESPN+.


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 295 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.

La Crosse -