Latest News

Published On: July 24th, 2022

LA CROSSE, WI – The La Crosse Loggers secured a comeback victory over the Minnesota Mud Puppies this evening, bringing themselves within a game of first place in the Great Plains East.  

In a rough 1st inning, the Mud Puppies hung a crooked six runs on the scoreboard. Teddy Deters (Xavier) and Jack Leverenz (Indiana-Kokomo) hit a pair of home runs, knocking out the Loggers’ starter in Garrett Rennie (San Diego).  

However, the Lumberman answered by producing a plethora of offense, including an 8-run 3rd inning. Leading the way was Xavier Casserilla (Wichita State), who went 2-for-3 with a grand-slam moonshot in the 3rd. The Wichita State product finished with a game-high 6 RBIs.  

Also having breakout performances were Josh Stevenson (LSU), Connor Walsh (Rice), and Aidan Sweatt (North Florida), who combined for 10 of their teams’ 16 hits.  

Juan Acevedo (Elgin CC) was the winning pitcher after 2.0 solids innings of work, while Korey Dahlberg (Concordia St. Paul) received his third loss of the season.  

The Loggers will now embark on a three-game road trip beginning tomorrow in Mankato. The first pitch is slated for 6:35pm CT at ISG field. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 295 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.