Beetles Saberhagen Shuts Down MoonDogs

(Mankato, MN) – A night after the MoonDogs (7-9, 24-26) shut down the league’s highest scoring offense, Beetles (8-8, 26-24) starter Drew Saberhagen (4-1) returned the favor shutting down the MoonDog bats, leading to a 5-1 loss for the MoonDogs Tuesday night in Mankato. MoonDogs starter Garett Claypool (0-1) went 6 2/3 innings, giving up four runs, three earned, on seven hits while striking out nine Beetle batters.

The MoonDog offense had a hard time producing the big hit to score the runs needed to take down the Beetles, producing seven hits, all singles. The MoonDogs had a chance to make the game interesting in the bottom of the seventh. After already putting up a run, Mankato had the bases loaded with one out, but Beetles reliever Brandon Rapoza got second baseman Sean Nicol to ground into a double play to end the threat. To lead the MoonDogs, First baseman Adam Abraham was 2-for-4. Left fielder James Keithley was 1-for-4 with the MoonDogs lone RBI, and third baseman Nate Hanson was 1-for-3 with a run scored.

Following Claypool’s performance, reliever Matt Mossey gave up one run in a third of an inning pitched. Mark Haderlein and Tim Ryan combined to shut out the Beetles over the final two innings, giving up three hits and striking out one.

Left fielder Logan Hoch was 2-for-4 with a double, run scored, and RBI, and catcher Blake Murphy hit a two-run home run to lead the Beetles. Second baseman Denny Duron was 2-for-3 with an RBI, and center fielder Josh Upchurch also produced two singles and scored a run. Third baseman Gunner Glad and first baseman Casey Haerther each singled and scored once for Alexandria.

Saberhagen went 6 1/3 innings, giving up just one run on five hits. Rapoza threw an inning, giving up two hits and no runs. Dallas Cawiezell closed out the game for the Beetles, going 1 2/3 hitless innings, striking out four of the five batters he faced.

The MoonDogs will stay home for a two-game series against the Madison Mallards. The series begins tomorrow night at 7:05 pm at Franklin Rogers Park.