Latest News

Published On: August 21st, 2007

(Mankato, MN) The Mankato MoonDogs, a member of the Northwoods League, is proud to announce that third baseman Nate Hanson (U of MN) and closer Chad Dawson (Indiana State) have been named to the 2007 Northwoods League Post-Season All-Star team as voted on by the league’s coaches and members of the media. Dawson is one of four players to be named to the team for a second consecutive year and its Hanson’s first year.

In a season that had many highlights and accomplishments for Hanson, he took main stage in the 2007 Northwoods League All-Star Game on July 11th, 2007 in Mankato, Minnesota. With the game tied 1-1, Hanson laced a two-out, two-run double down the left field line in the bottom of the seventh inning that eventually turned out to be the game winner for the North Division who won 3-2. For his clutch hit, Hanson was named the game’s Star of Stars after going 1-for-3 with the tie-breaking double.

Ultimately, it was Hanson’s consistency and great hitting that led to his recognition. In his second year with the Mankato MoonDogs, Hanson excelled at the plate. In the last week of the season, Hanson pulled away from Wisconsin’s Darin Ruf to win the Northwoods League batting title with a .363 batting average. His .363 batting average also broke a MoonDogs single-season record set by Mike Huggins in 1999 with a .355 batting average. In addition, Hanson led the MoonDogs in doubles (16), home runs (5), slugging percentage (.515), and on-base percentage (.399) and was second on the team with 28 RBI.

Even though he didn’t make his first appearance until the 19th game of the season, 2007 was a record breaking year for Dawson as well. His 18 saves in 2007 broke the MoonDogs single season saves record recently held by Neil Wagner with 13 saves in 2005 and the MoonDogs career saves mark also held by Wagner with 17 saves from 2005-2006. He also broke the Northwoods League career saves record with 32 saves, which was recently held by two pitchers who both had 28 saves (Tim McNab-Wisconsin and Dustin Braud-Brainerd/Rochester).

Overall, there were 25 players named to the Post-Season All-Star team. Co-MVPs of the league were pitcher Kole Calhoun of the Eau Claire Express and outfielder Daniel Robertson of the Green Bay Bullfrogs. Manager of the Year honors went to Elliott Strankman of the Green Bay Bullfrogs and Coach of the Year went to Chandler Rose of the Alexandria Beetles.

The MoonDogs broke yet another total attendance mark with almost 40,000 fans for the 2007 season. Be sure to reserve your seat with the team next season. Limited premium seats and all other season ticket packages for 2008 will go on sale soon. Please check back to or call the MoonDogs Office at 507-625-7047 for more information.