Latest News

Published On: July 13th, 2009

Six MoonDogs Named to North Division All-Star Team

Rochester, Minn. – Six Mankato MoonDogs landed on this year’s North Division All-Star team as Ryan Demmin, James Wise, Tim Griffin, Kyle Knudson, KC Serna and Danny Miller all earned a trip to Thunder Bay next week for the Northwoods League All-Star Team.

This year’s All-Star game will be held in Thunder Bay, Ontario at Port Arthur Stadium, home of the Thunder Bay Border Cats at 6:05 EST on July 21st. Hall of Fame inductee Ferguson Jenkins will be the featured speaker at the banquet on Monday evening, while a scouting combine, fan fest and home run derby will be held in the hours leading up to the game on Tuesday.

Demmin (UW-Oshkosh), Wise (Washington State) and Griffin (Rollins) represent a MoonDog pitching staff that is sporting a league best 2.26 ERA. Demmin and Wise lead the team with four wins apiece with Wise sporting a perfect 4-0 record, while Griffin sits fourth in the league (first on the team) in strikeouts with 52.

Serna (Oregon) is leading the team with a .358 average and 14 stolen bases in just 22 games as a shortstop. Miller (Minnesota State), an outfielder, is on pace to break the team and Northwoods League records for walks, as he currently sits with a whopping 40. He is second in the league with a .457 on-base percentage in 39 games played for the Dogs. Knudson (Minnesota), in his second year with the MoonDogs, is having a breakout season, hitting .304 with a home run and 10 RBI, along with handling the vaunted MoonDog staff from the catcher position.

Battle Creek and Rochester led the selections with seven apiece. League home run leader (with 11) Corey Jones (Cal State Fullerton) headlines the Honkers selections while RJ Hively (Cal State Fullerton) earned his second all-star selection for Battle Creek.