Latest News

Published On: August 10th, 2009

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League announced its 25-member Postseason All-Star squad on Monday, and three MoonDogs earned a spot on the team. Pitchers Ryan Demmin and Tim Griffin, and outfielder Ryan Durant all earned spots on the squad.

Demmin (UW-Oshkosh) was an All-Star Game selection and will finish the year as the MoonDog single season leader in ERA with a mark of 1.36. That mark is also good for ninth-best in Northwoods League history. Demmin is 5-4 with a 1.36 ERA and 72 strikeouts in 80 innings. He will finish the season second in the league in ERA, third in strikeouts and fourth in innings pitched.

Griffin (Rollins) also earned a trip to the league’s All-Star Game and punctuated his season by throwing a no-hitter against St. Cloud on June 27. Griffin will end his regular season with a 4-2 record with a 1.60 ERA and 70 strikeouts in 67 innings. He is slated to finish fifth in the league in ERA and fourth in strikeouts.

Durant earns his postseason All-Star honor after missing out on mid-season All-Star recognition. Durant is currently fifth in the league in hitting, first among North Division players, with a .324 average. He has also added a home run with 22 RBI and nine stolen bases.

Mankato had the second most players of any NWL team selected to the squad. First round playoff opponent Rochester had five players on the team along while Battle Creek also had three selections.

Rochester shortstop Corey Jones (Cal State Fullerton) was named Most Valuable Player while Bryce Butt (Ohio) earned Pitcher of the Year honors.

On the non-playing side, Rusty McNamara (UC-Riverside) was named Manager of the Year while Joe Cotton (Bowling Green) was named Coach of the Year. St. Cloud’s Joe Faber Field earned Best Playing Surface honors and Andrew Tichy (MSU-Moorhead) was named Broadcaster of the Year.