Latest News

Published On: June 9th, 2014

MANKATO-Minn. The Mankato MoonDogs, a member of the Northwoods League is proud to announce that a total of fifteen current and former MoonDogs were selected this weekend in the 2014 Major League Baseball Entry Draft.

This success at the draft continues a tradition of excellence for the MoonDogs and the Northwoods League, as current and former players were selected from the first round to the late rounds. The total of fifteen players selected tops last year’s total of eleven.

Five players currently on the MoonDogs roster were selected. The first name to be called was Sam Clay (Georgia Tech) who pitched well for the MoonDogs last summer and was planning to come back for his second summer with the team. Clay was selected in the fourth round, 110th overall, by the Minnesota Twins. A short time later, Brock Dykxhoorn (Central Arizona) was taken in the sixth round, 166th overall, by the Houston Astros. He received a generous applause from his teammates when he walked into Franklin Rogers Park on Friday. Dykxhoorn was the MoonDogs most consistent starter last season, leading the team in innings pitched with 56.0.

Trevor Lubking (Pacific Lutheran) was selected in the 14th round of the draft and was the 427th overall pick by the Tampa Bay Rays and David Petrino (Central Arizona) was selected in the 39th round, 1159th overall by the Chicago Cubs. MoonDogs shortstop Jake Yacinich (University of Iowa) was selected in the eighth round, 239th overall by the Los Angeles Angels.

A number of MoonDogs alumni were also picked up by major league teams. A pair of 2012 MoonDogs were taken in the eleventh round as Drew Stankiewicz (Arizona State) went 322nd overall to Philadalphia and Matt Borens (Eastern Illinois) went 332nd overall to the New York Yankees. 2013 Mankato pitcher Jon Perrin (Oklahoma State) was taken by Detroit in round 33, 1000th overall.

The former player selected highest in the draft was 2013 MoonDog, Zach Zehner (Cal Poly San Luis Obispo) who went in the seventh round, 204th overall to the Toronto Blue Jays. Four former MoonDogs were selected by the Pittsburgh Pirates including Chase Simpson (14th round, 431st overall), Eric Karch (22nd round, 671st overall), Jess Amedee (27th round, 821st overall), and David Andriese (30th round, 911th overall).

Other past MoonDogs selected were Blair Moore (Cal Baptist) who was selected in the 28th round, 828 overall by the Chicago White Sox and 2012 player Kyle McGrath (Louisville) who went to San Diego in round 36, 1077th overall.

The fifteen MoonDogs selected were part of another extremely successful draft for the Northwoods League who saw 170 of their current and former players drafted. Three NWL players were selected in the first round including former Madison Mallards pitcher Nick Howard (Virginia), who went 19th overall to the Cincinatti Reds along with former Eau Claire Express first baseman Casey Gillaspie (Wichita State), who was selected 20th overall by the Tampa Bay Rays.

The MoonDogs would like to congratulate all the current and former players selected, especially 2014 MoonDogs, who signed professional contracts and will be leaving Mankato. We wish them all luck as they chase their big league dreams.

The MoonDogs return to Franklin Rogers Park for game one of an eight game home stand Tuesday night. First pitch is at 7:05pm. Fans who bring their dogs to the game will get in free. BENCHS will also be fundraising for animals in need in the Mankato area. You can also listen to all MoonDogs home and away games on AM1230 The Fan Mankato, with the voice of the MoonDogs Josh Horton.

The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 21st season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 115 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (STL) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League YouTube channel.  For more information,