Latest News

Published On: December 3rd, 2014

Northwoods League Announces 2015 Schedule


MANKATO, Minn. – The Northwoods League has released its complete schedule for the 2015 season. The MoonDogs will open the season on Tuesday, May 26 on the road in Rochester. The home opener will be the very next day as they will host those same Rochester Honkers at the Frank on Wednesday May 27th at 7:05. The MoonDogs will also continue their tradition of having an MLB legend throw out the season’s first pitch and host a fireworks extravaganza on opening night as well.

2015 will also bring something brand new to the Frank. For the first time in team history the MoonDogs will host a day/night double header. On Monday, June 29th the MoonDogs will host the St. Cloud Rox twice. The first game will start at 1:05 and the second game will start at 7:05.

The Northwoods League, the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, will begin its 22nd season on Tuesday, May 26, when all teams take the field for summer collegiate baseball’s most extensive schedule, at 72 games. Northwoods League fans set an attendance record during the 2014 season when over 1 million fans attended games during the summer

The 2015 Northwoods League All-Star Game will return to Witter Field in Wisconsin Rapids on Tuesday, July 21 as the Wisconsin Rapids Rafters will host the annual All-Star Game for the second time.

The League, which plays two halves to determine playoff participants, will end the first half of play on June 30 with the second half beginning the following day.  The first and second half division winners from both the North and South divisions will meet in a best-of-three Divisional Playoff Series from August 10-12. The North and South Division Champions will then meet in a best-of-three series for the Summer Collegiate World Series from August 13-15.

Season tickets are on sale now in the MoonDogs ticket office located at 1221 Caledonia St. or by calling (507) 625-7047


The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 22nd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2015, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 120 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (DET) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Allen Craig (BOS) and Ben Zobrist (TB). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website.  For more information, visit