Latest News

Published On: June 24th, 2018

Mankato, Minn. – The MoonDogs established a convincing lead in the first inning against Waterloo, drawing five walks, four hits, and scored eight runs. After the second out of the 52-pitch inning, seven straight MoonDogs batters reach base safely. Danny Kapala (Minnesota) was pulled in the inning after he plunked the MoonDog’s catcher, Max Wright (Indiana State). Josh Culliver (Minnesota) would come in for an early relief appearance to finish inning.

The Bucks were the first to take the lead in this game, as they put up two runs in the top of the first off of MoonDog’s starter, Josh Ramirez (Washburn). Drue Galassi (W. Illinois) started the early rally with a single to left-center field drove in the first run of the game. With two outs left in the inning, Bucks third baseman, Joe Aeilts (Illinois St.) hit a single into left field and drove in Galassi.

In the third inning, Mankato’s left fielder, CJ Huntley (Indiana State), extended the lead with a three-run home run over the left field fence, putting the Dogs up 11-3.

Tonight’s winning pitcher, Geremy Guerrero (Indiana State) came in the fifth inning and threw four innings and only allowed two walks, no hits and eight strikeouts. Ryan Duffy (Minnesota) entered the game in the ninth inning and retired all three batters to finish the game.

The MoonDogs will play their fifth and final game of the home stand tomorrow night at The Frank against the St. Cloud Rox. First pitch is scheduled at 7:05 pm.


The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.