Latest News

Published On: June 27th, 2018

The Mankato MoonDogs defeated the St. Cloud Rox for their fourth straight win Tuesday, defeating the defending champions 4-3.

The Rox scored three runs in the first three innings, with the MoonDogs adding one of their own in the second off an RBI groundout from CJ Huntley (Indiana State) to score Jake Shepski (Xavier), tying the game at the time. However, the Rox took a 3-1 lead into the fourth inning, where both teams went scoreless.

Mankato struck back in a big way in the fifth inning, chasing Rox starter Will Warren (Southeastern Louisiana) by virtue of scoring three runs. Kenton Crews (Evansville), Max Wright (Indiana State) and Austin Bull (Grand Canyon) all scored in a three run fifth inning where the MoonDogs took the lead, never to relinquish it.

RJ Teijeiro (UCLA), Shepski and Bull all contributed two hits, with Shepski and Bull scoring a run. The MoonDogs left nine men on base, but staved off a late rally from St. Cloud to win their fourth in a row.

Nathan Hickey (Tarleton State) allowed just the three runs, throwing seven innings and earning the win. Zach Hardy (New Mexico State) earned the second save for the MoonDogs all year; sitting down six straight batters to record the six out save.

The MoonDogs will play two on Wednesday, with both coming against the Rochester Honkers. First pitch at Mayo Field is scheduled for 12:05, with the second game set to commence at The Frank at 7:05.

##The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.