MoonDogs Win Big Over La Crosse Heading into the Playoffs

Mankato, Minn. – The MoonDogs won big tonight over the La Crosse Loggers, 13-3. Mankato’s winning streak is now at seven games heading into the playoffs.

La Crosse took an early lead in the top of the second inning after Grant Judkins (Iowa) doubled to right-center field, and drove in Mike Rothenberger (Duke) and Korey Lee (California).

Zach Hardy (New Mexico State) put the MoonDogs on the board in the bottom of the second with single to left field to drive in Josh Elvir (Houston). Brett Newberg (Austin Peay) doubled later in the inning and drove in Zac Wiley (Bellarmine) and Kenton Crews (Evansville) to take a 3-2 lead.

Zac Wiley blew the game open in the bottom of the seventh after he hit a three-run home run to left field and put the MoonDogs up 11-3. Wiley now is now tied for second in home runs on the team with Jake Shepski (Xavier), CJ Huntley (Indiana State), and Josh Elvir with four home runs on the season.

Jackson Uner (DMAAC) enter the game in the top of the eighth and pitched a scoreless inning. Alex Babcock (Bethany Lutheran) relieved Uner with one out left in the top of the ninth and secured a MoonDogs victory, 13-3.

Player of the game, Zach Hardy, went 4-4 with three singles, a triple, and drove in two runs. Hardy finished the season with a 1.000 batting average, reaching base in all five at bats.

Rickey Digrugilliers (Minnesota State) had a solid start for the MoonDogs tonight, as he pitched seven and two-thirds innings, struck out four batters, and surrendered three runs.

The MoonDogs will play the Stingers tomorrow in Willmar for the first round of the playoffs. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 pm.


The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 200 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.