Latest News

Published On: June 9th, 2019

By Connor Wachtel

Mankato, Minn. – The Mankato MoonDogs recorded their 3rd straight win in shutout fashion on Sunday afternoon to overcome the Bismarck Larks. The Dogs took the first game of the two-game series by a 3-0 score.


BOX SCORE: Mankato 3, Bismarck 0

The MoonDogs scored their first runs in the third frame. An RBI single from Dayton Dooney (Arizona) scored Taylor Jackson (Kirkwood CC) for the first tally. Sky-Lar Culver (Arkansas State) followed it up with his own RBI one bagger to put Mankato up by a pair to end the third.

The MoonDogs plated an insurance run in the fifth when Mason Crews (Kansas State) launched a double that one hopped the wall in the right field gap. It put the Dogs up 3-0, where the game ultimately finished to add a win to Mankato’s streak.


Player Notables:

Earning the win in his MoonDogs debut was Nick Hull (Grand Canyon). He pitched five frames of shutout baseball allowing only a pair of hits, he struck out five and walked three. In for relief work was Jaxon Passino (Kansas State) who pitched 1.2 innings allowing a hit. He also struck out one Bismarck batter. Then Shane Barringer kept the scoreless pattern for the Larks. Going 1.1 innings, he struck out one along the way. Hayden Juenger (Missouri State) came in for the ninth and shut the door to earn the save on the shutout win for the Dogs. He allowed a lone hit and struck out another to finish off the game.

Handed the loss was Eric Hildebrand (Jackson College) after he went six innings and surrendered each of the MoonDogs three runs. He also gave up nine hits, three walks and struck out three others. In relief, Bradley Collins (UMass Amherst) took to the mound in the seventh frame. He gave up a hit, walked one and struck out a pair.


Due up for the Dogs:

The Mankato MoonDogs (7-6) and Bismarck Larks (9-4) now will get set for game two tomorrow in Mankato, Minn. Brett Newberg (Austin Peay) is the Dogs notable starting pitcher. He is scheduled to deliver the first pitch at 6:35 p.m. at Franklin Rogers Park.


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. The 25-year old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff,  225 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG), World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS) and MLB All-Stars Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (MIA). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.