Latest News

Published On: July 11th, 2020

By: Mitchell Speltz

Waterloo, Iowa — The Waterloo Bucks (7-2) produced a historic offensive showing on Saturday night with a 20-3 win over the Mankato Moondogs (1-7).

The Bucks struck first when Jalen Smith singled to score Cameron Thompson, giving Waterloo an early 1-0 advantage after one inning.

Mankato would answer back the following inning when Michael Curialle brought home a pair with a two-run single to score Emanuel Dean and Evan Berkey to put the Moondogs on top 2-1.

It wouldn’t take Waterloo long to get that run back as they would even the score with a Cameron Thompson RBI single in the bottom of the frame.

Five more runs would come across for the Bucks in the next two innings to go up 7-2. Mankato would get one back on a sacrifice fly by Zach Kokoska to score Zach Gilles in the fifth inning.

It would be all Waterloo from there as they would score 13 unanswered runs to finish the game to secure the 20-3 win.

The Moondogs will return to action on Monday traveling to St. Cloud to face the Rox in a brief one-game series. First pitch is scheduled for 7:05 p.m.


The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 26th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.