MoonDogs Continue to Roll with Third Straight Win Over Bismarck

By: Mitchell Speltz

BISMARCK, N.D.– The Mankato MoonDogs (24-9) stayed hot on Independence Day with a 7-3 win over the Bismarck Larks (18-17).

Bismarck scored first in the second inning with an RBI single from Jordan Sagedahl (South Dakota State) to make it 1-0.

The MoonDogs would get that run back the next half-inning when Josh Urps (Cal-State Fullerton) grounded out to plate home Austin Garrett (Kansas State) tying the game at one.

In the fourth inning, Mankato would take their first lead thanks to Alex Baeza (Hawaii) and Carson Yates (UCLA) who each collected RBI singles to put the MoonDogs on top 3-1.

Mankato would add on some more insurance in the sixth on another RBI knock by Yates, his third hit of the ballgame to make it 4-1.

They would put the game away in the seventh inning on RBIs from Jack Costello (San Diego) and Austin Garrett as part of a three-run inning.

Behind the dominance of starting pitcher Blake Reilly (Grand Canyon), the MoonDogs cruised to their third straight win over the Larks and now will go for a four-game sweep on Monday night. Reilly dealt a season-best 6 innings with just 3 hits, 1 run, 6 strikeouts, and 1 walk as he earned his first winning decision of the season.

The first half of the regular season concludes for the MoonDogs on Monday as Kolby Gartner (St. Thomas) gets the call against the Larks in what will be his first start of the summer. The opening pitch is at 6:35 p.m.



The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.