Latest News

Published On: July 18th, 2021

Photo captured by Mansoor Ahmad/Mankato MoonDogs

By: Mitchell Speltz

DULUTH, Minn. – The Mankato MoonDogs (32-15) are headed into the All-Star Break with some momentum after a 1-0 shutout victory over the Duluth Huskies (19-27) at Wade Stadium to secure a two-game sweep.

The game was deadlocked at a pitchers duel all afternoon as Luke Young (Midland College) and Duluth starter Cameron Pool (Murray State College) matched each other pitch-for-pitch to start the game.

Pool’s day was done after five shutout innings while Luke Young pitched seven masterful innings not allowing any runs while allowing just five hits.

The Mankato offense would pick up their hurler when they cracked the scoreboard for the game’s only run in the seventh inning with an RBI single with bases-loaded by Evan Berkey (Evansville) to score Justin Boyd (Oregon State).

Carson Hamro (UCLA) was tasked with holding the 1-0 lead for the final two innings and the freshman answered the call as he faced the minimum in both innings, ending the game with a double-play ball to lockdown Mankato’s second shutout victory in their last five games with a 1-0 win.

Luke Young earned his fifth winning decision of the season while Carson Hamro picked up his second save.

The MoonDogs next game will be on Thursday, July 22 when they host the Eau Claire Express at ISG Field for the start of another two-game series. First pitch is at 6:35 p.m. 


The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 27th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 230 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and MLB All-Star Jordan Zimmermann (DET). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.