MoonDogs Shutout by Stingers in Willmar

Written by Connor Wachtel

WILLMAR, Minn. – The Mankato MoonDogs were shutout 12-0 on the road by the Willmar Stingers at Bill Taunton Stadium, Tuesday night.


After being held scoreless for the third time in five games, the MoonDogs now stand with an 11-12 win-loss record. The Stingers are now 13-10 this season after picking up the win.


Mankato was riddled by six errors in Tuesday’s ballgame, which resulted in five unearned runs. In addition, the bats were silenced as the MoonDogs were outhit by the host Stingers 10-5.


The Stingers scored three runs out of the gate before adding a fourth in the second inning to grab an early 4-0 lead. After Kyle Payne doubled to open the bottom half of the first inning for the Stingers, he later scored on a wild pitch for the first and eventual game-winning run.


Willmar iced the game by scoring four runs in the sixth and seventh innings, respectively. The game ultimately stood as a 12-0 final score in favor of the Stingers.


Starting on the mound for the MoonDogs, Owen Boerema (Kansas State), now 2-1, was handed his first loss after throwing five complete innings and allowing four runs (one earned). Additionally, Boerema was hit off five times while walking a pair of opposing hitters with four strikeouts along the way.


The MoonDogs and Stingers rematch in Mankato tomorrow night for the home-and-home series finale. Drew Buhr (1-0 / Bellarmine) will deliver the first pitch at ISG Field as the MoonDogs’ probable starting arm at 6:35 p.m.



The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 280 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.