Latest News

Published On: July 24th, 2022

Photo captured by Dylan Engel (Mankato MoonDogs)

Written by Connor Wachtel

MANKATO, Minn. – The Mankato MoonDogs were defeated by the Bismarck Larks, 8-4, Sunday night at ISG Field.


The loss snapped a three-game winning streak for the MoonDogs, who now stand 27-23 overall with an 8-8 mark in the second-half standings. The Larks are now 17-33 overall as well as 6-10 in the second half following the victory.


The Larks cracked the score column first in the first on Sunday when Spencer Sarringar (Northern State) hit a sacrifice fly to right to make it 1-0. Later in the inning, Jackson Beaman (Missouri) made it 3-0 with a double down the leftfield line that scored a pair.


The lead was extended to 4-0 in the next inning on another sacrifice fly hit to right by Aaron Mann (Drury). After the MoonDogs scored three runs between the fourth and fifth frames, which included a two-run single up the middle by Brendan Hord (Evansville), the deficit was cut down to one.


Two innings after the Larks piled on three more runs to make it 7-3, Hord continued to swing the hot stick when he hit a no-doubt solo home run out to left for his second blast of the summer.



Scoring wrapped up in the ninth when the Larks plated one more run and rode their 8-4 lead to victory to salvage a split of the two-game series at ISG Field.


Corey Sanchez (San Jose State) was the MoonDogs’ starting arm on Sunday evening. After getting roughed up in the opening inning, he was forced out of the game due to the single-inning pitch limit. He was handed the loss and fell to 3-2 on the summer.


The MoonDogs open a new two-game series Monday hosting the La Crosse Loggers. First pitch is scheduled for 6:35 p.m. at ISG Field.



The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 280 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the MoonDogs as your favorite team.