Latest News

Published On: August 4th, 2023

The Mankato MoonDogs fell to the Minot Hot Tots 9-4 on Friday night as they could not slow
down a resurgent Hot Tot offense.

The MoonDogs got the scoreboard cracking early, as they struck for three runs in the first inning.
After Ty Rumsey (Evansville) reached on an error, a sacrifice fly by Asher Bradd would score
him to get Mankato on the board first. Later in the inning, Jalen Martinez (Arkansas State) would
drive in a run with an RBI double and then Louis Magers (MSU-Mankato) would drive in
Martinez to make the score 3-0. However, the Hot Tots would answer. They scored two in the
second inning, and then charged out with a four-run fourth inning to put Minot ahead for good.

They added a rub in each of the fifth and sixth innings, and although Asher Bradd (Illinois)
would drive in Rumsey with an RBI single in the seventh inning, Minot would add one in the
eighth inning and take the 9-4 victory.

The series is now tied at one game apiece and Mankato has the chance to earn the series split on
Saturday as they take on the Hot Tots once again with first pitch slated for 6:35 p.m.


The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rockers as your favorite team.