Latest News

Published On: August 7th, 2023

The Mankato MoonDogs mustered just one run on Monday night, as they were downed 4-1 by the Bismarck Larks at Bismarck Municipal Ballpark.

The pitching was the story in the early going as Bismarck’s Cade Torgerson and Mankato’s Tomas Nelson (Gustavus Adolphus) kept the game scoreless through the first two-and-a-half innings. However, the Larks hit back in a big way, scoring two runs in the third and fourth frames to charge out to a 4-0 lead.

The game stayed 4-0 until the sixth inning, as Kai Roberts (Utah) walked, stole second base, stole third base, and scored on a throwing error down to third base. Roberts was a bright spot for the MoonDogs offensively, going 2/2 with two walks and two stolen bases.

Conor Merton (Bethany Lutheran) took over for Nelson with two outs in the sixth inning. Nelson went 5.2 innings, allowing four earned runs while striking out four. Merton entered in a 4-1 game and did his part, retiring seven of the eight batters he faced while striking out two. 

However, Mankato just could not get the offense going and fell 4-1 to the Larks. A big problem for the black and orange was that they had just two runners in scoring position all night.

Mankato is back in action Tuesday as they finish off the season series with the Larks. First pitch is set for 6:35 p.m.


The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rockers as your favorite team.