Chat with us, powered by LiveChat


Ryan Dykstra Named Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’

Kalamazoo, MI – The Northwoods League has announced the recipients of the 2022 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award. The annual award recognizes the top fielders at each position. The winners are selected based on final fielding statistics compiled by the Northwoods League. The 2022 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award recipients and their fielding percentages are below.


Position Player NWL Team College Fielding Percentage
C Spencer Sarringar Bismarck Larks Northern State .989
1B Joey Grabanski Battle Creek Battle Jacks Concordia University, Nebraska .975
2B Aidan Sweatt La Crosse Loggers North Florida .973
3B Trevor Austin St. Cloud Rox Mercer .957
SS Noah Dehne Minnesota Mud Puppies North Dakota State .959
OF John Nett St. Cloud Rox St. Cloud State 1.000
OF Jan Rollon Madison Mallards Southern University and A&M College 1.000
OF Ryan Dykstra Kalamazoo Growlers Oakland University .989
P Aidan Longwell Lakeshore Chinooks Kent State 1.000


Rawlings has been rewarding the top defenders in the Northwoods League since 2002. The recipients receive a special Rawlings engraved trophy. Rawlings is the official equipment provider for the Northwoods League.


The Kalamazoo Growlers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Growlers as your favorite team.