Latest News

Published On: August 5th, 2023

After a rough game the night before the MoonDogs looked to get back into the win column. The MoonDogs would strike first when a Kai Roberts double would send in Asher Bradd.

Caleb Strack would start for the MoonDogs his first since the All-Star game. Starck would give up one run leaving the game tied after one.

Jalen Martinez would start out the second inning with a deep drive. Giving the MoonDogs the lead they had just given up. That would not be it for the MoonDogs as they would get another run across the plate extending the lead to two.

The Hot Tots would not go down without a fight as they would get another two runs on the board, tying the game up at three.

In the third inning the MoonDogs would explode for a trio of runs the Tots would not be able to respond to right away. Ari Armas would start it out with a double before Jake Duer would send him in with a single. Martinez would keep his great night going with a single getting Duer across the plate and would eventually score himself.

The fourth inning would see the MoonDogs get another one across the plate as Duer would push Roberts who was hit by a pitch.

After the second inning the MoonDogs moved on from Strack putting the game in the hand of Aaron Smith. Smith would give three strong innings before giving way for Louis Magers and eventually Brevin Goetz.

The MoonDogs would make the game nearly unreachable for the Tots with a five-run inning in the eighth. The Tots would try to make it interesting putting up their first runs since the second inning during the bottom of the ninth.

The MoonDogs and Hot Tots face off for the last time for the season tomorrow at 5:35 P.M. in Minot.


The Mankato MoonDogs are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Rockers as your favorite team.