Rivets Fall in Extras to Chinooks


MEQUON, WIS. – The Rockford Rivets battled with the Lakeshore Chinooks for eleven innings Thursday night before falling 4-3 at Kapco Park.


After a battle of bullpens commenced from the fifth inning on, it was a throwing error by Rivets second baseman David Cronin that allowed Royce Ando to score in the eleventh to pick up the victory for the Chinooks.  Zach Olszewski (1-1) suffered the defeat in relief while LHP Chris Choles (1-1) threw five shutout inning of relief for Lakeshore to earn the win.


The Rivets would grab the early lead in the second as Cade Bunnell scored Alex Maloney, who had walked and stole a base, with a single to right for a 1-0 lead.  Lakeshore would answer with three runs in the bottom of the inning.  After a one out single by Owen Miller and walks to Matt Johnson and Kevin Riley, Ando scored Miller on a groundout and Zac Taylor laced a two-run single to right to score Johnson and Riley to give Lakeshore a 3-1 lead.


Rockford would battle back in the fourth.  After a Cronin single and Ricardo Ramirez walk, Bunnell would score both with a two-run single through the middle against Lakeshore starter Marshall Kasowski.  That would be the last hit the Rivets would record in the game.  LHP Kacey Murphy did throw four and two-thirds innings of hitless relief for Rockford in the loss.


The Rivets will continue the two game series against the Chinooks in Mequon on Friday evening at 6:35 p.m.  Broadcasts and live streams can be found at 





Rockford is a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League, which will play its 23rd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2016. The Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 150 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (Washington Nationals) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (Chicago White Sox), Jordan Zimmermann (Detroit Tigers), Curtis Granderson (New York Mets), Lucas Duda (Mets) and Ben Zobrist (Chicago Cubs). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website, For more information, visit