Published On: August 2nd, 2016

LOVES PARK, Ill. – The Madison Mallards got a great performance from starting pitcher Westin Weuthrich (Washington) as the Mallards earned a season and series split with the Rockford Rivets with a 7-1 win Monday night at Rivets Stadium.


Madison took the lead in the second.  Josh Stowers (Louisville) singled off of Rivets starter Jake Perkins (Chicago State), then stole second and scored on a single by Cam Comer (Virginia) to take a 1-0 lead.  The Rivets tied the game in the third when Braden Williams (Texas Tech) scored on a wild pitch to tie the game at 1.


The Mallards took the lead for good in the fourth against Perkins (2-1).  Stowers singled again, and stole second base for a second time before Nico Hoerner (Stanford) drove him in with a single to give Madison a 2-1 lead.  That was more than enough for Weuthrich (1-5) who went seven innings and allowed just three hits.


After scoring an unearned run in the eighth, the Mallards put the game away in the ninth.  Matt McCann (Fairleigh Dickinson) walked, Nelson Maldonado (Florida) singled, and Nate Palace (Valparaiso) was hit by a pitch against reliever Quinton Forrester.  Zach Jarrett (UNC-Charlotte) delivered a two-run single before scoring on a wild pitch after Stowers hit a sacrifice fly to score Palace to make it 7-1.


The Rivets will begin a two game series against the Green Bay Bullfrogs at Joannes Stadium Tuesday night at 7:05. Broadcasts and live streams can be found at 





Rockford is a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League, which will play its 23rd season of summer collegiate baseball in 2016. The Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 150 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (Washington Nationals) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (Chicago White Sox), Jordan Zimmermann (Detroit Tigers), Curtis Granderson (New York Mets), Lucas Duda (Mets) and Ben Zobrist (Chicago Cubs). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League Website, For more information, visit

Latest News