Latest News

Published On: September 19th, 2017

2017 Top Defenders Rewarded for Best Fielding Percentages

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League has announced the recipients of the 2017 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award. The annual award recognizes the top fielders at each position. The winners are selected based on final fielding statistics compiled by league statistician Pointstreak. The 2017 Rawlings ‘Finest in the Field’ Award recipients and their fielding percentages are below.

Position Player NWL Team College Fielding Percentage
C David Noworyta Rochester Honkers Hawaii .996
1B Kyle Hubbuch Duluth Huskies North Alabama .994
2B Matthew Tarantino St. Cloud Rox University of the Pacific .985
3B David Villar La Crosse Loggers South Florida .946
SS Justin Evans Eau Claire Express Columbus State .943
OF Cody Hawken Battle Creek Bombers University of Portland 1.000
OF Zach Ashford Eau Claire Express Fresno State 1.000
OF Mason Mamarella St. Cloud Rox Kent State 1.000
OF Drake Lubin Lakeshore Chinooks Eastern Michigan 1.000
P Cameron Busby Wisconsin Rapids Rafters Belmont Abbey 1.000


Rawlings has been rewarding the top defenders in the Northwoods League since 2002. The recipients receive a special Rawlings engraved trophy. Rawlings is the official equipment provider for the Northwoods League. To qualify for an award a player needs to appear in at least two-thirds of the scheduled games at a specific position, with the exception of catcher which is half. For pitchers, the player that had the highest total defensive chances without committing an error earns the number one spot.


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. The 24-year old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 180 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including two-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champion Ben Zobrist (CHC) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET), Curtis Granderson (LAD) and Lucas Duda (TBR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.