Northwoods League Announces 2018 All-Star Selections

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League has announced the rosters for the 2018 Northwoods League All-Star Game, which will be played on Tuesday, July 24 at 7:30 p.m. (EST) at Homer Stryker Field in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Justin Slaten, Phillip Sikes, Spencer Myers, and Scott Ogrin are the four selections from the Eau Claire Express.

In the South Division, the First-Half Champion Madison Mallards have eight players on the roster. Madison is led by Tyler Plantier (University of Richmond) and his 10 home runs, 10 doubles and 36 RBI. On the mound, Mallard Trace Norkus (University of North Florida) has 10 saves, two wins and has 26 strikeouts in 19.2 innings pitched. He has walked only eight batters and has a 0.45 ERA.

In the North Division, the Mankato MoonDogs have five selections while the Eau Claire Express, Duluth Huskies and the First-Half North Division Champion Bismarck Larks have four selections each.

The All-Stars from the MoonDogs are powered by first baseman Kyle MacDonald (Arkansas State University). MacDonald is hitting .287 with 11 home runs, eight doubles, 35 runs scored and 49 RBI. On the mound, the MoonDogs are led by Jon Ludwig (Minnesota State University, Mankato) and Adam Lukas (University of Evansville). Ludwig has four wins and 40 strikeouts in 38 innings pitched and has a sparkling 1.18 ERA. Lukas has a 2.43 ERA and is tied for the league lead with five wins and is second in the league with 50 strikeouts.

The contingent of All-Stars from Bismarck features infielder Ripken Reyes (University of California, Berkeley) and catcher Mike Farnell (Murray State University). Reyes is currently hitting .312 with 10 doubles, 11 stolen bases and 15 RBI. Farnell is having an impressive season as well at the plate. Across 33 games he is hitting .314 and has four home runs, 17 runs scored and 23 RBI.

Field Manager Donnie Scott and his coaching staff from the Madison Mallards will be in the dugout for the South. The First-Half South Division Champion Mallards are holders of a league best 30-15 overall record.

Bismarck Field Manager Sean Repay and his staff will manage the North All-Stars. The First-Half North Division Champion Larks currently have a 27-18 overall record.

This year’s All-Stars were chosen in a vote by the 20 member teams of the Northwoods League. Ballots were cast by each team’s field staff and media contacts.

Click here for complete 2018 Northwoods League All-Star Rosters


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its 25th anniversary season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 190 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (TOR). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.