Latest News

Published On: August 10th, 2019

The Eau Claire Express were recognized this afternoon with two postseason honorees. Matt Bottcher was selected to the 2019 Postseason All-Star Team while Pete Knutson was chosen as one of two Play-by-Play Announcers of the year.

2019 Postseason Rosters can be found here: 2019 Postseason Rosters

Matt Bottcher (Illinois-Chicago) has enjoyed an impressive season with the Express at Carson Park this summer and can add 2019 Postseason All-Star to his list of accolades. Bottcher locked down the second base position early in the season and is batting .360 through 56 games this year. Additionally, the junior from Romeoville, Illinois has gained 40 RBIs to go along with his 40 runs scored, 81 hits, 10 doubles, and a single-season tying seven triples. This selection comes on the heels of a 2019 All-Star appearance and Major League Dreams attendance.

Pete Knutson was honored by his peers this afternoon and was awarded 2019 Play-by-Play Announcer of the Year. This is the second time that Knutson has been recognized for his outstanding work in the press box as the team’s Radio Broadcaster. Knutson was honored as Northwoods League Co-Broadcaster of the year in 2016 and is just the second broadcaster in Eau Claire Express history to be recognized by the league and their peers.

Knutson will call tonight’s game in Waterloo as Matt Bottcher and the Express look to lock up a Great Plains East Second-Half Championship and return to the playoffs.


The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The 25-year old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 200 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist (CHC) and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET) and Curtis Granderson (MIA). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.