Latest News

Published On: July 5th, 2023

Eau Claire, WI – In a quick 4th of July game that lasted just over 2-hours, the Eau Claire Express beat the Thunder Bay Border Cats cleanly 1-0.

The game featured a strong outing from both teams’ pitchers, but it was Cory Ronan (Hawaii) who got the win for the hometown club. His 6 inning appearance was a great one, throwing just 8-0 pitches, with 0 runs, and 4 strikeouts. His performance on the mound earned himself Player of the Game honors.

Other men on the mound for the Express were Trey Felker (Montevallo),  Nick Fitzanko (Missouri-St. Louis), and Matt Helwig (Lewis). All three of these arms kept Ronan’s momentum going to pitch for the combined team shutout.

Offensively, the Express were able to get 6 hits on the night. Perhaps the most important hit of the night came in just the second inning, when Camden Ross (Western Kentucky) smacked a solo home run over the Left Field fence, and onto the football field here at Carson Park. His solo shot was the only run scored by either team through the entire night, and helped deliver the Express the victory.

The two teams will face off again tomorrow at home in Eau Claire, with first pitch coming at 6:35. The theme is Disco Night, so be sure to throw on your favorite 70s garb and come on out to the ballpark!



The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.