Latest News

Published On: July 19th, 2023

Waterloo, IA – The Express traveled south of the Wisconsin border Tuesday night to take on the Waterloo Bucks. The men from the north enjoyed the victory as Eau Claire beat the Bucks 10-4.

Isaiah Katz took the hill for the Express to start the game. Katz pitched 6 clean innings, giving up just 2 hits and zero runs. This quality start put the team in position to use only 1 more pitcher per inning to close out the game. Although the Bucks got 4 runs in the later half, Katz and the crew did enough to ensure the Bucks didn’t claw their way back into the ballgame.

The Express continued their high-powered offensive dominance, scoring another 10 runs. Most of these runs came in the 4th and 6th innings when 3 and 5 were added to the board respectively. Ryan Nagelbach (UIC), Rayth Petersen (UIC), and Nate Witte (UW-La Crosse) were all 3-5 on the night and Nagelbach drove in 3 runs for the Express.

The team was seeing the ball well, as the Express had 15 total hits on the night. All but two men in the lineup recorded a hit for the Trains, which added fuel to the victory fire.

The Express will look to stay in the Win Column in their next contest vs. the Bucks. They will get another shot at the deer Wednesday in Waterloo, with the first pitch coming at 6:35 pm CT. Follow the action live online on the Northwoods League Website, or tune into the game on the radio at 106.7 FM-Moose Country.



The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.