Latest News

Published On: August 5th, 2023

Duluth, MN – In a high-scoring matchup in Duluth, the Eau Claire Express outlasted the Huskies, winning 15-13.

It was a productive day at the plate for the Trains, as every member of the starting lineup recorded a hit on the day. Reed Latimer (UAB) and DJ Massey (Central Arizona) each contributed in a big way, as both batters tallied 3 hits on the day. Latimer went 3-5 with a Triple and 3 runs. Massey went 3-6 with 2 RBI.

Pitching proved to be a struggle for the visiting Express, as Tyler Schmitt (UW-La Crosse), Tayler Montiel (Tulane), and Daniel Reischl (UW-La Crosse) combined to open. up the game. The trio combined to give up all of the runs on the night before new closing pitcher Coby Moe (WKU) came in and finished the game. Moe looked sharp on the day, throwing for 1 2/3 innings and giving up zero runs with 2 strikeouts.

With the win in Duluth, Eau Claire has now gone undefeated against the Huskies for the year. They will look to keep their 8-game winning streak active in Saturday night’s matchup against the Willmar Stingers.

The game will be held at Carson Park and First Pitch will come at 6:35 pm CT. The theme for the night will be 80s Night, and we will be having fireworks post-game. Be sure to stop out to the park for a fun-filled Saturday Night!



The Eau Claire Express are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 24 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 325 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Express as your favorite team.