Latest News

Published On: October 30th, 2023

Eau Claire, WI – The Express’s very own Pete Knutson has been named the 2023 Northwoods League Great Plains TV Announcer of the Year! 

Pete finished his 9th season with the Express in 2023, broadcasting all Express Home games on the Northwoods League Baseball Network. This is Pete’s third Northwoods League award, being named Co-Broadcaster of Year in 2016 and 2019.  

“I am humbled and honored to be selected as the TV Announcer of the Year. Every year there are so many talented broadcasters in our league and 2023 was no exception. It takes a lot of great people to put on a great broadcast. Thank you to Ben Peterson, Oscar Sexauer, Ben Teske and our entire broadcast crew for making our broadcasts fun and entertaining. Thanks to Sammi Costello and Craig Toycen for being supportive so that we always feel we’re going to put on a great show each night. Thank you to Dale Varsho, Vic Cable, Shane Ryan, Jake Varsho and all the players this season for giving us all the access we needed to make sure our broadcasts were top notch. Thank you to the Northwoods League for this tremendous honor.” – Pete Knutson

“Long before we owned the team, I enjoyed listening to Pete on the call at Express games.  It’s been a pleasure getting to know him and the professionalism he brings to the job. We are fortunate to have an announcer of Pete’s caliber and are glad the league recognizes his talent.” – Express Owner Craig Toycen 

The Express are honored to have such talented individuals like Pete working for the organization and can’t wait for another 72 games of Pete Knutson! 


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 30th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 26 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 340 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (TEX), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.