Latest News

Published On: August 13th, 2023

Kalamazoo, MI – The Kalamazoo Growlers are heading back to the Northwoods League playoffs. Here is everything you need to know.


Seeking 2nd Straight Championship:
In 2022, the Growlers won the first Northwoods League Championship in team history. Entering the playoffs last year, the Growlers were the lowest seeded team before they made their improbable run to being crowned Northwoods League champions. They now look to capture their second straight championship.

Best Record in Team History:
The Growlers will finish the 2023 season with the best record in the team’s 10 year history. The team recorded 46 wins in 2023. The previous record for wins in a season for the growlers was 42.

Second Best Record in Northwoods League:
The Growlers hold the second best overall record in the entire Northwoods League. The NWL has a total of 24 teams Their 46-22 record is only outdone by the Willmar Stingers who have 48 wins.

Home Field Advantage:
With their impressive record, the Growlers are guaranteed home field advantage throughout the first two rounds playoffs and quite possibly the World Series if it comes to it. The only time the team would lose home field advantage would be if if the team makes it to the championship game and so does Willmar. In 2022, only one playoff game was played in Kalamazoo but now the championship will go through Kalamazoo in 2023.

Traverse City Rivalry:
Let us look back at the last four Northwoods League champions.
2019: Traverse City
2020 (Michigan Pod due to Covid): Kalamazoo
2021: Traverse City
2022: Kalamazoo
Over the last four years the Northwoods League championship has been won by a team from Michigan. Traverse City is the heated rival of the Growlers and the two will once again face-off in the playoffs. Last year, the Growlers eliminated Traverse City in the first round of the playoffs, and they play each other in the first round again this year.

Local Players on the Team:
The Growlers have used home grown talent to lead them to their most successful season yet.
Myles Beale: Outfielder. Hometown: Grand Rapids, MI School: Northwood Univ.
Adam Berghorst: Pitcher. Hometown: Zeeland, MI School Michigan State Univ.
Jerad Berkenpas: Pitcher. Hometown: Byron Center, MI School: Grand Rapids CC
Carson Byers: Pitcher. Hometown: Mattawan, MI School: Ball State Univ.
Sam Carlisele: Pitcher. Hometown: Portage, MI School: Purdue Northwest Univ.
Jake Carroll: Pitcher. Hometown: Mattawan, MI School: Northwood Univ.
James Geshel: Pitcher. Hometown: Rockford, MI School: Western Michigan Univ.
Ethan Getting: Pitcher. Hometown: Portage, MI School: Purdue Northwest Univ.
Korbin Griffin: Outfielder. Hometown: Kalamazoo, MI School: Ball State Univ.
Eamon Horwedel: Pitcher. Hometown: Ann Arbor, MI School: Univ. of Michigan
Jake Ickes: Pitcher. Hometown: Dowagiac, MI School Kellogg CC
Tyler Johnson: Pitcher Hometown: Lexington, MI School: Alma College
Kevin Krill: Catcher Hometown: White Lake, MI School: Oakland Univ.
Joe Wade: Pitcher: Hometown: Ann Arbor, MI School: Kalamazoo College


Playoff Schedule:
The first round of the playoffs begin Sunday in Traverse City. The series will continue in Kalamazoo on Monday and (if necessary) on Tuesday. The rest of the playoff schedule is TBD.
Sunday, August 13th: Kalamazoo at Traverse City
Monday, August 14th: Traverse City at Kalamazoo
Tuesday, August 15th (if necessary): Traverse City at Kalamazoo 



The Kalamazoo Growlers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 a Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Growlers as your favorite team.