Latest News

Published On: June 4th, 2016

KALAMAZOO, MI – Eight hits were not enough for the Kalamazoo Growlers tonight as they lost to the Battle Creek Bombers for a second straight night by a score of 6-1. The Growlers stranded eight runners on base in tonights' contest and that proved to be vital in the loss.

The scoring started early for the Bombers as they were able to get a run in the top of the first inning when Josh Canabal drove in Ryan Dorow on a base hit. Kalamazoo was able to answer back with a run of their own in the bottom of the third inning on a Dan Robinson base hit that drove in Alex Holley. 

The game did not stay tied for long. Battle Creek's Cooper Marshall sent a 2-0 fastball over the left field wall in the top of the forth inning, and with two runners already on base, Battle Creek gained a 4-1 advantage. 

Battle Creek added two more runs later in the game on a bases loaded walk in the fifth and a fielder's choice in the eighth off of the bat of Alejandro Gomez.

The Growler bulpen was once again stellar tonight. San Diego State freshman Jeff Kross came into the game in the fifth inning and held the Bombers to just one run in 4.1 innings of work. 

One of the newest additions to the Growlers, Dan Robinson, earned Growler of the Game honors after a 3 for 4 performance at the plate including one RBI. Robinson barely missed a home run in the first inning, which turned into a double that hit high off the wall. 

Kalamazoo and Battle Creek will be back in action tomorrow night at Homer Stryker Field in a 6:05 p.m. EDT ball game. 


The Kalamazoo Growlers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 23rd season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, 150 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (CHC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit