Latest News

Published On: July 11th, 2016

KALAMAZOO, MI – The Kalamazoo Growlers failed to bring any runners across the plate this afternoon in what resulted in a 7-0 loss to the Madison Mallards. Kalamazoo kept up in the hit category tonight as Madison was only able to record one more hit than the Growlers, but the timing for the six hits they ended up with did not produce any runs. 

Madison got on the board quickly in this one thanks to the bat of Zach Jarrett. The fielder's choice that he grounded into in the top of the first inning allowed Josh Stowers to score and got the Mallard's out to a 1-0 lead. 

The Mallards were able to add some cushion to their lead in the middle innings. They scored one run in the fourth inning when Noah Cummings brought Jarrett home on another fielder's choice. The following inning was when the Mallards were able to pull away from Kalamazoo. They got RBI singles from Nate Palace and Josh Stowers and stretched their lead out to 4-0. 

The final two runs were added to Madison's lead in the top half of the eighth inning. Bryce Carter grounded one hard to second base that Camden Duzenack (Dallas Baptist) had trouble handling and Cummings took advantage of the error to cross home for the fifth run of the contest. Palace drove in Cameron Frost for the final run tonight on the Mallard's third RBI fielder's choice off of Growlers' pitching. 

Kevin Marnon (Ball State) had a solid start today for the Growlers. He pitched seven innings and allowed four runs on six hits while striking out six Mallards hitters. Jeff Kross (San Diego State) made his first appearance out of the bullpen for Kalamazoo since June 27th and completed the final two innings while only allowing one hit. The two runs that were scored off of Kross in the eighth inning were ruled unearned. 

Kalamazoo and Madison will be back in action tomorrow night at Homer Stryker Field at 7:05 p.m. BJ Butler (Ball State) will be on the mound for the Growlers. 


The Kalamazoo Growlers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. Playing its 23rd season of summer collegiate baseball, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, 150 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (CHC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit