Latest News

Published On: May 21st, 2015

Rochester, MN – Two Kalamazoo Growlers were amongst 25 current and former Northwoods League players named to the 2015 All-Big Ten teams. Ohio State outfielder Troy Montgomery earned a spot on the All-Big Ten Second Team, while Michigan State outfielder Brandon Hughes made it to the All-Big Ten Freshman Team.

As the Buckeyes’ leadoff hitter, Troy Montgomery batted .317 with 12 doubles, four home runs, and a .924 OPS while starting all 55 games for OSU. At the end of the regular season, he led the Big Ten in stolen bases (35) and walks (38) while also ranking in the top 10 in runs (54, third), triples (six, second), and on-base percentage (.434, seventh). Montgomery also played a spotless center field as one of just 10 Big Ten players with a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage. He finished second in the league in putouts (132) and chances (137) while also contributing five outfield assists.

Breaking into the Spartans’ outfield as a freshman, Brandon Hughes hit .271 with 31 runs, six home runs, 27 RBIs, and a .745 OPS in 54 games. He also brought an exceptional glove to right and center field for MSU, posting a .984 fielding percentage with 121 putouts and five outfield assists in 128 chances. Hughes showed off the leather in right field on Wednesday night with sliding catch to rob Maryland of an extra-base hit in the Big Ten Tournament.

Former Waterloo Buck David Kerian from Illinois was named the Big Ten Player of the Year after leading the league in hitting (.375), home runs (13), and OPS (1.106). Kerian spent the 2013 and 2014 seasons with the Bucks. In 2013, Kerian hit .297 with six home runs and 39 RBI. He also stole 18 bases. During the 2014 season with the Bucks, Kerian hit .292 with five home runs and 35 RBI to go along with 11 steals.

Below is a list of the NWL players, their All-Big Ten team, college, and NWL team.


C — Jason Goldstein, ILL, Madison Mallards

1B — David Kerian, ILL, Waterloo Bucks

SS — Adam Walton, ILL, Madison Mallards (2014), Rochester Honkers (2015)

3B — Mark Weist, MSU, Battle Creek Bombers

OF — Casey Fletcher, ILL, Rochester Honkers

OF — Jackson Glines, MICH, Battle Creek Bombers

OF — Pat Porter, OSU, Kenosha Kingfish

SP — Blake Hickman, IOWA, Waterloo Bucks


C — Tanner Lubach, NEB, Duluth Huskies

1B — Ryan Krill, MSU, Lakeshore Chinooks

SS — Michael Handel, MINN, Madison Mallards

OF — Eric Toole, IOWA, La Crosse Loggers

OF — Ryan Boldt, NEB, Rochester Honkers

OF — Troy Montgomery, OSU, Kalamazoo Growlers

SP — Drasen Johnson, ILL, Waterloo Bucks

RP — Nick Hibbing, IOWA, Madison Mallards


1B — Tyler Peyton, IOWA, Waterloo Bucks

2B — Reid Roper, ILL, Rochester Honkers

OF — Ryan Nagle, ILL, Waterloo Bucks

OF — Tom Marcinczyk, RU, Wisconsin Rapids

DH — Pat McInerney, ILL, Kenosha Kingfish

SP — John Kravetz, ILL, Wisconsin Rapids Rafters

SP — Ryan Riga, OSU, Lakeshore Chinooks


1B – Scott Schreiber, NEB, Rochester Honkers

OF — Brandon Hughes, MSU, Kalamazoo Growlers

The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. The 21 year old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 120 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (OAK). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal