Latest News

Published On: October 8th, 2015

Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award. This award is given to the player at each position who had the best batting average during the 2015 regular season. 

La Crosse shortstop Mason McCoy leads this impressive list of award winners. McCoy earned a Rawlings “Big Stick” by leading the league with an outstanding .367 batting average. He was also the Northwoods League Player of the Year and set single season league records in hits, runs and total bases.

Rawlings has been rewarding the top hitters in the Northwoods League since 2007 in addition to honoring the best fielders since 2002. To honor their achievement the eight award winners will receive an engraved bat from Rawlings. The complete list of 2015 Rawlings “Big Stick” Award Winners is below.



NWL Team


Batting Average


Jean Ramirez


Illinois State



Ricky Sanchez


Notre Dame



Steve Sada


Miami of Ohio



Carter McEachern

Thunder Bay

Trinity University



Mason McCoy

La Crosse

Illinois Central



Jared James

Thunder Bay

Long Beach State



Robb Paller

Green Bay




Logan Regnier


Central Michigan


To be eligible a player would have needed to have enough plate appearances to qualify for a batting title. A player must have a minimum of 2.7 plate appearances per team game.



The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. The 22-year old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 18 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 140 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (CWS), Jordan Zimmermann (WAS), Curtis Granderson (NYM), Lucas Duda (NYM) and Ben Zobrist (KC). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. For more information, visit