Four Loggers Earn NWL Postseason Honors

McCoy, Large, Conine, Raquet Named to League Postseason All-Star Team


Rochester, Minn. – The Northwoods League announced their 2016 Postseason All-Star Team and Awards this morning. The La Crosse Loggers were tied with the Kalamazoo Growlers of the South Division for the most players named to the Postseason All-Star Team.

Mason McCoy (SS, Iowa) followed up his 2015 Northwoods League MVP season with another great season at shortstop. He finished with a .315 batting average in 64 games. Mason accumulated 85 hits (3rd in the NWL), 56 runs (4th in the NWL), 37 RBIs, and a team high 133 total bases. In his first game back with the team, he tripled twice, setting the team single game record. On the base paths, he stole career high 20 bases. He was also elite in the field, making highlight reel plays whether the ball was up the middle behind 2nd base, in the hole between the third baseman and shortstop, or halfway into the outfield. Mason was selected the Northwoods League All-Star Game and Major League Dreams Showcase for the second year in a row and was named the 2015 All-Star Game’s Co-MVP.

Cullen Large (2B, William & Mary) led the team with .332 batting average (5th in the NWL) and a .443 On-Base Percentage (5th in the NWL). He collected 66 hits in 56 games with a team-high 19 doubles (3rd in the NWL), just two shy of the team record of 21 set by Mason McCoy and Brock Lundquist last season. Cullen was patient at the plate, walking 37 times while only striking out 16 times.

Griffin Conine (DH, Duke) was a power threat that few Loggers’ have ever displayed. He hit a Northwoods League best 16 home runs, hitting 13 of them after the start of July. On July 3rd, he hit his longest home blast of the season onto Copeland Avenue on the fly (approximately 445 feet). Griffin batted .287 from the plate with a team-high 47 RBIs with 125 total bases. He also competed in the Home Run Derby in Kenosha during the All-Star Break.

Nick Raquet (LHP, William & Mary) led the Loggers’ pitching staff with a 2.23 ERA (6th in the NWL). In 64.2 innings of work, he struck out a team-high 62 batters (4th in the NWL). Nick finished with 4-4 record in 10 starts. His last start of the season on August 13th, he went 8 scoreless innings, giving up 4 hits with 2 walks and 9 strikeouts.

Jake Shepski (Notre Dame) of the Mankato MoonDogs won the League MVP award. Marshall Kasowski (Houston) of the Lakeshore Chinooks won the Pitcher of the Year Award. 

La Crosse -