Latest News

Published On: June 15th, 2017

La Crosse, Wis. – The third and final day of the 2017 Major League Baseball Draft proved to be another busy one for the La Crosse Loggers organization as twelve more alums and two current Loggers had their names called by major league teams.

Current Loggers right fielder Yahir Gurrola (North Florida) received the call during the Loggers 11-9 victory at Copeland Park this afternoon and was promptly pulled from the game to receive the news and verbally agree to an offer from the Philadelphia Phillies who had selected him in the 27th round.

The complete list of Logger draftees for 2017 is below …

PLAYER (Round, MLB TEAM)                            COLLEGE                                 YEAR WITH THE LOGGERS

Riley Adams (3rd, Toronto)                                 San Diego                                2015
Nick Raquet (3rd, Washington)                            William & Mary                          2016
Cullen Large (5th, Toronto)                                  William & Mary                          2016
Mason McCoy (6th, Batlimore)                            Iowa                                         2015-16
Brock Lundquist (6th, Toronto)                             Long Beach State                      2015
Logan Harasta (7th, San Francisco)                     Buffalo                                     2017 Signee
Jack Meggs (10th, Oakland)                                Washington                               2015
Sal Biasi (11th, Kansas City)                               Penn State                                2016 Signee
Cason Sherrod (13th, Kansas City)                      Texas A & M                             2016
Kyle Nelson (15th, Cleveland)                              UC-Santa Barbara                      2015
Jeff Bain (16th, Arizona)                                      Cal-Berkeley                              2015 Signee
Orlando Razo (16th, Seattle)                                UC-Davis                                  2017 Signee
Scott Burke (20th, Baltimore)                               UCLA                                        2014
Jonathon Teaney (20th, Cleveland)                      San Diego                                2016    
Jordan Pearce (21st, Detroit)                               Nevada                                     2015
Adrian Chacon (23rd, Cincinnati)                          North Carolina/Tampa                2014
Mitch Stalsberg (23rd, Detroit)                             Winona State                            2016
Dave Smith (25th, Washington)                           Long Beach State                      2016
Yahir Gurrola (27th, Philadelphia)                         North Florida                             2017
Joe DiBenedetto (29th, Toronto)                          Nova Southeastern                    2016
Graham Spraker (31st, Toronto)                           Quincy                                      2015-16            


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The 23-year-old summer collegiate league is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 20 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, more than 160 former Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including two-time Cy Young Award winner Max Scherzer (WAS), two-time World Series Champion Ben Zobrist (CHC) and MLB All-Stars Chris Sale (BOS), Jordan Zimmermann (DET), Curtis Granderson (NYM) and Lucas Duda (NYM).  All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League portal. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.