Latest News

Published On: June 4th, 2022

Yesterday La Crosse extended their losing streak to four, as they are yet to tally a win on their home field. In a strong offensive performance, Mankato scored 20 runs, many of which came from shortstop Orlando Salinas. The Kansas State product went 5-6 on the night, including a home run and 7 RBIs. Derek Shoen also had a standout game for the MoonDogs, going 4-5 with a home run and 5 RBIs. The most devastating inning for the Loggers occurred late, as the MoonDogs hung 10 in the ninth frame, ending all hopes of a late comeback.  

Pitching for Mankato, John Lundgren collected his first win of the summer. The Dog’s right-hander recorded a solid start, registering 5 innings and allowing 2 earned runs on 7 hits and 3 strikeouts.

Russell Derbyshire started for the Lumberman, appearing for the second time. Following 3 innings of work and 5 earned runs, left-hander Brett Stuessel came in for relief. Stuessel was able to eat up 5 quality innings, only allowing 3 earned runs on 5 hits and 3 strikeouts.  

The lone bright spot for the Loggers was newcomer Landon Wallace. Arriving just an hour before first pitch, the utility man from Nevada fell a home run shy of the cycle. In addition to his 3 hits, he drove in 2 of the Logger’s 5 runs. 

The Loggers face the MoonDogs again tonight at home for their final matchup of the two-game set. The first pitch is slated for 6:35pm at Copeland Park. 


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 280 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.