Latest News

Published On: June 9th, 2022

La Crosse defeated Willmar yesterday thanks to an impressive offensive showing. Like the previous night, the Loggers had success once reaching the opposing team’s bullpen. In the 6th inning, after a solid outing from Stinger’s starter Reed Smith (Louisiana Tech), who went 5.2 innings with 3 earned runs on 6 strikeouts, the Loggers put together a string of hits and walks. Zac Rice (UT-Martin) then drove in 3 with a bases clearing double.  

The Lumberman piled on their lead in the 8th, batting around the order and adding a crooked 6 runs. The pair of Skyhawk commits in Zac Rice and Mac Danford both had RBI base hits in the inning.   

Jack Haley (Cal State Fullerton), Landon Wallace (Nevada), Mac Danford (UT-Martin), and Zac Rice (UT-Martin) all recorded 2 hits on the evening, with Rice leading the way in RBIs with 4. 

Brayden Sanders (NW Mississippi) started for the Loggers, tallying 2.2 innings with 5 earned runs on 2 hits, 5 walks, and 3 strikeouts. Ricky Reeth (Notre Dame) came on in relief in the 3rd, recording 3.1 scoreless innings, keeping his team in the ballgame. After the Stingers tried mounting a comeback rally in the 9th, Trey Frahm (Nebraska) was called upon to put the fire out. Frahm recorded the final out with a backwards K and tallied his second save. 

Tonight, the Loggers will look for their third consecutive victory at Bill Taunton Stadium in Willmar, MN. The first pitch is scheduled for 7:05pm.  


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 280 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.