Latest News

Published On: June 21st, 2022

All good things must come to an end, just as the Logger’s winning streak was halted at eight games last night. In walk-off fashion, the Bucks were able to end their three-game skid.  

Chase Chatman (Florida Southwestern) managed to turn in consecutive quality starts for the Lumberman, going 6.0 innings while surrendering 2 earned runs on a walk and 3 strikeouts. Sam Mettert (Wabash Valley CC) was unable to record an out in relief, before Eldridge Armstrong (San Diego State) tossed 2.0 scoreless innings, improving his ERA to 0.87 through 5 games. Trey Frahm (Nebraska) recorded his first loss, allowing a late-inning rally by Waterloo, in which Jalen Martinez (Iowa Central CC) clutched up a 2 RBI base-hit to win the game.  

The Buck’s offense was spearheaded by Jake Wilhoit (Davidson College), who registered back-to-back 3-4 performances. Also chipping in was Colin Kasperbauer (Ohio) and Ryan Guardino (Tennessee Tech), who each had 2 hits. The walk off, as mentioned previously, came from Martinez. The pinch-hitting outfielder took a 2-1 fastball to the opposite field in right, scoring Tai Walton (Hawaii) easily and Ryan Grabosch (New Mexico State) at a close play at the plate.  

Dylan Gotto (Wartburg College) got the nod for Waterloo. The southpaw tallied 5.1 innings while allowing 3 earned runs on 10 hits and 5 strikeouts. In relief, Jordan Powell finished off the 6th frame and proceeded to throw a clean 7th. Trent Reddick (Georgia State) was tagged for 4 runs but finished the game and earned the win.  

Despite taking a tough loss, the Logger’s offense continued to produce last evening. Dylan King (North Carolina) and Connor Walsh (Rice) both had big nights, each going 3-5 with a double. Also contributing was Landon Wallace (Nevada) and Aidan Sweatt (North Florida), who each went 2-4, including a clutch base-knock from Sweatt to tie up the score in the 8th inning.  

The Lumberman will pursue another winning streak as they return home today to start a two-game series with the Duluth Huskies. Tonight, will be Stroke Survivors night; an evening dedicated to survivors in partnership with Mayo Clinic and Gunderson. The first pitch is slated for 6:35pm CT at Copeland Park.  


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 280 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.