Latest News

Published On: June 25th, 2022

The Loggers emerged victorious in their series finale against the MoonDogs yesterday, preserving their 2nd place spot in the Great Plains West.  

Matthew Linskey (Rice) toed the slab for the Lumberman, making his second start of the early season. Linskey, an imposing presence on the mound, continued his abbreviated string of success. The 6’7 right-hander tossed 4.0 innings, surrendering a run on 2 hits and 6 strikeouts.  

Eldridge Armstrong (San Diego State) appeared later, recording his first save of the summer. He tallied 2.0 scoreless innings with a couple of strikeouts. Since his arrival, Armstrong has been a mainstay out of the Loggers bullpen, owning an ERA of 0.73 through six games.  

MoonDog batters could only muster up 2 runs, coming in the 4th and 5th innings. John Newman Jr (UC-Santa Barbara) drove in the first run on a ground out and Kai Roberts (Utah) produced the second, plating Brendan Hord (Evansville) on a base-knock to right field.  

Starting for Mankato was Donovan Schultz (Evansville), a Wisconsin native. The southpaw was cruising until the 5th inning, in which La Crosse mounted a 3-run rally. He had as many strikeouts as hits, with 7. His night ended with 4 earned runs through 4.1 innings of work. In relief appeared Jarrett Blunt (Omaha), who kept the Lumberman off the scoreboard for the remainder of the contest.  

For the Loggers’ offense, most production came from the top of the line-up. Josh Stevenson (LSU), Landon Wallace (Nevada), and Coby Morales (Washington) each had 2-hit outings. Carson Hornung (South Carolina) chipped in by starting the 5th inning rally with an RBI double.  

The Loggers now head to Eau Claire today as they look to Derail the Express, their division rival. The first pitch is slated for 6:35pm CT at historic Carson Park. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Having completed its’ 28th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, over 280 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.