Latest News

Published On: July 8th, 2022

The La Crosse Loggers were narrowly defeated in extra innings last night, falling to the Waterloo Bucks for a series split.  

Chase Chatman (St. Thomas-Miami Gardens) had an abbreviated start for the Loggers, in which he got tagged for 5 runs through 2.0 innings of work. In total, the Lumberman utilized five hurlers out of the bullpen, each having mixed results. Ace Whitehead (Texas) pitched well but took the loss, tossing 3.0 frames while allowing no earned runs on 4 hits and 4 strikeouts.  

For the Bucks offense, several players had standout performances. Jake Wilhoit (Davidson College) and Ryan Guardino (Tennessee Tech) each went yard and collected multiple hits. Mason Dobie (Dayton) was the lead catalyst, going a perfect 4-4 with the go-ahead RBI single in the top of the 10th inning.  

Seven pitchers appeared for Waterloo. Anthony Pron (Stevens Institute of Technology) was able to redeem himself after a blown save the previous night. He recorded a scoreless bottom of the 10th, earning his 1st save of the summer.  

For the Loggers offensively, Jordan Donahue (Hawaii) and Dylan King (North Carolina) each went 2-3 with RBIs. Sam Hojnar (Iowa) turned in an impressive starting debut, going 2-5 with a 2-run dinger in the bottom of the 3rd inning.  

The Lumberman will travel to Duluth this afternoon to begin a 2-game series against the Huskies. The first pitch is slated for 6:35pm CT at Wade Stadium. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 290 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.