Latest News

Published On: July 17th, 2022

The La Crosse Loggers were defeated by a lopsided margin yesterday against the Bismarck Larks.  

Aurthur Luther (Wittenburg) V turned in a solid outing on the mound for the Larks, hurling 4.2 innings with no earned runs on 3 hits. He was relieved by several pitchers out of the bullpen, with none surrendering a run. Julio Romero (Waubonsee CC) got the win; his first of the summer.  

For the Loggers’ offense, hits were hard to come by. They compiled 4 base-knocks on the evening, coming from 4 different players. Their only run was produced in the 2nd inning, in which Xavier Casserilla (Wichita State) walked and came around to score an unearned run.  

Eight pitchers appeared for the Lumberman; a season high. Drew Christo (Nebraska), who took the loss, struggled and was forced to make an early exit due to pitch count limitations. Jake Gebb (UC-Riverside) was a bright spot, tossing a scoreless inning in his team-leading 16th appearance. For Gebb, he has not allowed a run in his last 8 games.  

The bulk of the Larks’ runs came early, scoring 9 in the first two frames. Following a sac fly and an RBI walk, Bradlee Preap (Radford) launched a bases-clearing double off the wall in the 1st inning. In the 2nd, Preap struck again with a 2-RBI single. He finished the game with a colossal 5 RBIs. Spencer Sarringar (Northern State) also had a big performance, going 3-for-5.  

Both teams will return to Copeland Park tomorrow to conclude the four-game series. It will be “St. Patrick’s Day in July” at the ballpark, presented by Jimmy’s Salad Dressing. 

The first pitch is set for 5:05pm CT on the north side of La Crosse. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 295 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.