Loggers Victorious Over Moon Dogs; Win, 6-3.

MANKATO, MN – The La Crosse Loggers edged out a road win over the Mankato Moon Dogs last night, splitting the two-game series.  

In a collective effort, the Loggers’ pitching staff was excellent. Eldridge Armstrong (San Diego State) started and tallied 5.0 strong innings, allowing 3 earned runs on 7 hits and 5 strikeouts. 

He was followed by scoreless innings of relief from Ryan Sleeper (Appalachian State) and Dylan Lapic (UT-Martin). Lapic appeared in the 8th inning, getting his team out of a bases-loaded jam with no outs. In the final frame, he recorded his first save of the season.  

The Moon Dogs paced the Loggers in the hit column but were unable to drive in runs. Brendan Hord (Evansville) was the toughest out, going 3-for-5 with 2 RBIs. Kai Roberts (Utah) also contributed by reaching base 3 times and scoring twice.  

For the Lumberman, lead-off hitter Aidan Sweatt (North Florida) spearheaded the Loggers’ offense by going 3-for-5 with 2 runs scored. Emilio Corona (Arizona) also tallied multiple hits, extending his hitting streak to a modest seven games.  

The Loggers will now head to Willmar tomorrow to take on the Stingers in a double-header. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires and front office staff, over 295 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play.

La Crosse -