Loggers Snap Streak; Defeat Stingers, 7-6

The La Crosse Loggers edged past the Willmar Stingers last night, snapping their five-game skid and the Stingers’ twelve-game winning streak.  

The Loggers produced the bulk of their runs early, scoring in each of the first three frames and knocking out Sam Malec (Minnesota) after just 2.1 innings of work.  

Jordan Donahue (Hawaii) was the offensive catalyst, having a base-hit and scoring a run in his first two at-bats. He was also a menace on the base paths, swiping 3 bases. The Loggers stole 12 bases collectively; a franchise record for a single game.  

In the 5th, Bill Ralston (St. Mary’s) helped extend the early lead by ripping a 2-RBI double down the right field line, scoring Connor Walsh (Rice) and Sam Siegel (Augustana).  

Heading into the 6th inning down 4 runs, the Stingers were able to bring themselves within 2. Jakob Christian (Point Noma Nazarene) led off with a single and came around to score on an error. Following Mickey Thompson’s (San Jose State) departure as the Loggers’ starter, Zac Corbin (Kennesaw State) drove in a run on a sacrifice fly.  

The Stingers tacked on one more run in the 8th but fell short at the hands of Jake Gebb (UC-Riverside), who registered his second save of the season. Thompson tallied his first win. 

The Loggers will now embark on a three-game road trip starting tomorrow in Waterloo. The first pitch against the Bucks is slated for 6:35 pm. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.


La Crosse -