Loggers Fall to Bucks, 6-5.

WATERLOO, IA – The La Crosse Loggers were defeated in a close contest yesterday by the Waterloo Bucks, 6-5. 

Reed Stallman (Des Moines Area CC) got the Loggers off to an early lead with a 2-run homer in the 1st inning; his first of the summer.  

The Bucks responded with a big inning of their own, scoring 3 runs in the 1st. Following a string of base-hits by Caleb Corbin (Iowa Central CC) and Clayton Gray (Austin Peay State), Tai Walton (Hawaii) delivered a 3-run homer to left field.  

Both teams proceeded to score runs in the 3rd frame. For the Loggers, Jack Haley started the inning with a single and came around to score on an RBI walk by Sam Siegel. For the Bucks, Josh Patrick (Crowder College) drove in Tai Walton on a sacrifice fly.  

The remainder of the game was a pitcher’s duel. Drew Christo (Nebraska) started for the Lumberman, tallying 6.0 innings while surrendering 4 runs. Alijiah Acevedo provided 2.0 scoreless innings of relief, allowing no hits.  

Following 3.0 innings of work from Cael Boehmer (Wartburg College), Cameron Hagan (Hawaii) was able to keep the Bucks in the game. Hagan threw 3.0 scoreless innings out of the bullpen. Evan Swift (Lesley University) also pitched well, going 1.1 scoreless innings.  

The Loggers headed into the 9th frame down a run. They were able to score two curtesy of Xavier Casserilla, who stayed hot by lifting a 2-run homer over the center field wall.  

In the bottom half, the Bucks started their comeback with Corbin and Gray reaching via a walk and single. After two fielder’s choices, Michael Mugan (Santa Clara) reached on an error, loading the bases for Brodie Kresser (Des Moine Area CC). Kresser singled to the third baseman, scoring Kresser and winning in walk-off fashion.  

The Loggers will now travel to Rochester tomorrow to take on the Honkers. The first pitch is set for 6:35 pm at Mayo Field. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.

La Crosse -