Loggers Shutout in Duluth, 4-0.

DULUTH, MN – The La Crosse Loggers fell to the hands of the Duluth Huskies this evening, failing to produce any runs.   

The game was a stalemate until the 5th frame, with both starting pitchers registering strong outings. Ryan Chmielewski (Southwest Minnesota State) tossed 4.1 scoreless innings for the Huskies and Dylan Lapic (UT-Martin) tallied 5.0 scoreless innings for the Loggers.  

In the 5th, Devin Hurdle (Nebraska-Omaha) doubled and came around to score an unearned run to break the tie. The Huskies proceeded to score a run in each of the next three innings. Joe Vos (St. Thomas) helped his team’s cause by going 3-for-5 with an RBI. Cam Frederick (Nebraska-Omaha) contributed offensively as well, driving in two runs.  

Despite matching their opponent in the hit column, the Loggers were unable to manufacture any runs. Jordan Donahue (Hawaii) and Alijah Acevedo (Elgin CC) were products to build upon, however, each collecting two hits on the contest. Nate Witte (UW-Eau Claire) also hit a double in his NWL debut.  

The winning pitcher was Andrew Brockwell (Western Kentucky), who pitched 0.2 innings of scoreless relief, while Dylan Lapic was handed his second loss.  

Both teams will return to Wade stadium tomorrow to conclude their two-game series. The first pitch is set for 6:35pm CT in Duluth, MN. Fans can watch live at or listen live at 


The La Crosse Loggers are a member of the finest developmental league for elite college baseball players, the Northwoods League. The Northwoods League is the proven leader in the development of elite college baseball players. Now in its’ 29th season, the Northwoods League is the largest organized baseball league in the world with 22 teams, drawing significantly more fans, in a friendly ballpark experience, than any league of its kind. A valuable training ground for coaches, umpires, and front office staff, 300 Northwoods League players have advanced to Major League Baseball, including three-time All-Star and 2016 Roberto Clemente Award winner Curtis Granderson, three-time Cy Young Award winner and World Series Champion Max Scherzer (NYM), two-time World Series Champions Ben Zobrist and Brandon Crawford (SFG) and World Series Champion Chris Sale (BOS). As well as 2019 Rookie of the Year and 2019/2021 Home Run Derby Champion Pete Alonso (NYM) and 2021 All-Star, MLB Gold Glove winner and 2019 Second Team All-MLB shortstop Marcus Semien (TEX). All league games are viewable live via the Northwoods League website. League games are viewable live at and on ESPN+. For more information, visit or download the new Northwoods League Mobile App on the Apple App Store or on Google Play and set the Loggers as your favorite team.

La Crosse -